08 Nov

OCM Bocas Caribbean Lit Prize

Nicholas Laughlin of the Caribbean Review of Books just forwarded me details about the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature:

The Caribbean’s rich literary heritage — in multiple languages — has made a contribution to world culture well out of proportion to the region’s small size. We have produced winners of many literary awards, including three Nobel laureates — Saint-John Perse (1960), Derek Walcott (1992), and V.S. Naipaul (2001). But until now there has been no indigenous Caribbean literary award, organised and judged by Caribbean people, of genuinely international scope.